Another Day in the Life of a Writer

I was always worried about calling myself a writer.  I have never been paid for my work and I’ve only been published in church newsletters, Letter to the Editor in magazines and newspapers, and had some poetry published in the local paper.  So I was unsure whether labeling myself a writer might be a mistake.

But I’ve been reassured by many writing sites that it’s okay to label myself a writer.  If you write, then you are a writer.  Simple as that.  And yes, I love to write.  It’s not something that I do, it’s actually something I need to do!  Like breathing, or drinking coffee, it’s something that if I don’t do it I feel like part of me isn’t alive.  Okay, maybe coffee isn’t the best example, but I’m sure you understand.  Well, other coffee drinkers for sure.

There are days that I can’t get enough of sitting in front of my laptop clicking away at the keys, watching in wonder as the words appear before me, like they are now.  It’s almost like my fingers can’t keep up with my brain, as the creativity flows from my fingers, making contact with the keyboard.

Other days, I find it a drudgery to sit down and write.  Not that I’m blocked, but because sometimes I just need my brain to have a breather.  So on those days I decide to do other things like read a good piece of fiction.  Currently I’m reading Hollywood Crows by Joseph Wambaugh.  Great author, by the way.  If you’re looking for a fantastic writer, there’s one right there.  You’re welcome.  Or I will go through my Writer’s Market for short fiction publications and take an index card and jot down the pertinent info about the journal, for later use.  I try and figure out the best outlets for my work.  Or I’ll go watch t.v. for a bit.  One of my favorite shows is the new Hawaii Five-O, and I’ll catch an episode on Netflix.

So there are very productive days and others maybe not so much.  But as I look at both types of days, I realize that both are needed, to keep me from losing it, my mind that is.  Sometimes us writers need to step back from the laptop or notepad and just take a deep cleansing breath.  Maybe go for a long walk, or just sit outside for a bit and soak up some Vitamin D.

Just relax, fellow writers, and take a break when you need one, unless you are on a deadline, then maybe my advice wouldn’t be the best one for you.  But I haven’t run into that issue yet; but it will happen someday.  Hopefully I won’t be complaining when I have a deadline to meet because a novel needs a little tweaking or a short story has to be sent out to an interested journal.  I am looking forward to having that shot someday, and I feel that it is only a matter of time.  Happy writing, my friends.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Another Day in the Life of a Writer

  1. You’re a writer. If you’ve finished short stories, novellas, or novels, you can accurately call yourself an author too. You don’t have to be a PUBLISHED author in order to call yourself an author. You don’t have to be paid to call yourself a writer.

    Inventors, artists, small time farmers – there are loads of titles that are similar. There are dozens of painters who we all know of as PAINTERS despite the fact that they never sold a thing while they were living. If it is what you DO and who you want to be, it is what you are.

Leave a Reply

