Crossroads

Recently I’ve come to a crossroads in my life.  Realizing I am more than half way through my life at 51 and sick to death of living under the crushing weight of fear and uncertainty, I’ve decided to change.  Change how I look at things.  Change how I deal with challenges.

No longer will I over-analyze every decision I need to make.  My new motto is:  It is what it is.  Life is too short and way too complicated to live in the what-ifs.  Sure, there are going to be times I’ll still resort to old habits, but I can stop and think without belittling myself for giving in to fear.  We are all guilty of that, I believe, the giving in to fear.  No one wants to fail.  No one wants that to be their legacy.  No one wants mourners at their funeral to say, “What a nice guy he was, but what a failure!”

I need to suck it up and understand that failure is achieved only when we stop trying.  In all areas of my life I need to apply this concept.  Easily written about but not so easy to implement.  So, with a deep, steadying breath, I forge ahead.  There are so many things I want to do.  I’ll try to do them, and some I won’t be very good at(like Zumba), others I will probably not waste too much time over(like trying to learn a foreign language at this stage in my life), and others I’ll love(like writing for a living).

How about you?  What are your goals or dreams?

Leave a Reply

