The Solitude of Morning

I find the solitude of the early morning hours a welcome relief from the trials of life.  It feeds my soul, to sit at my laptop in the kitchen, coffee in hand, and check either e-mail or Facebook.  No one else is up yet.  The house is relatively quiet except for a mouse we seem to have running loose.  I can hear him hiding out in a corner chomping away at a piece of Kibble stolen from my dog’s food dish, or one found on the floor.  My dog is a very messy eater.

I can sit, basking in the solitude, and reflect on the day before, or plan out the new day while my thoughts are fresh and my head clear of any distractions.  Weekends it’s normally grocery shopping and church service, while during the week it’s about going to work and doing the chores around the house.

Lately I have been keeping myself busy with short story revisions.  I have joined a few critiquing groups on the web, which I am enjoying.  Still need to take the next step and start submitting work.  I have difficulty in choosing what magazines to send them off to.  Some publications accept works all year round, while others have certain time frames, some accept work from beginners, while others prefer established writers.  While I may not be a beginner, I have not earned a cent off my writing…yet.

But there are mornings I wake up, and my heart is sad.  I am sensitive to the pain of others.  I know that there’s not a lot that I can do to change that, but the news stories still haunt me days, weeks, later.  Especially at this time of year.  I see an overabundance of greed, eyes focused on gaining material possessions, and why?  All things eventually break and get discarded.  People need more peace in their lives.  Though technology has made life easier, people seem to be more miserable than ever.  Why is that?

I am truly blessed to have a loving and supportive family.  When life throws a fast ball my way, I can dodge it with the assistance of family.  And family is important.  They should be your support system.  And if they are not, I have compassion on you.   We all need someone to be a cheerleader for us.  Rooting us on.  Telling us, “Go on.  You can do it!”  Would the world be a better, happier place if we all had that one special person?  Yes, indeed it would.

Leave a Reply

