Taking the Challenge

I don’t know if you’re like me, but I am overjoyed that the elections are now over. No more lawn signs, no more television or radio ads! I even get out of sorts when I go to vote. I feel lost when I go to vote because it seems a bit unnerving to be around all those strangers. Well, that’s my experience anyway. Though I refuse to let that fear hold me back from doing my civic duty.

And who else struggles with forgetfulness? As an Aspie, my short-term memory is atrocious! My dear husband gets pretty pissed off at me a lot for this and I feel ashamed that I keep letting him down. It’s not that I mean to forget, but I just can’t seem to keep all of that stuff floating around in my head in any certain order. And there is so much going on in there, contrary to popular belief. I can’t seem to ever turn it all off. There never seems to be a time when I can turn it all off. My brain is constantly a-flutter with junk pushing around inside for attention. I have difficulty in falling asleep, I believe, due to this.

I am also in the process of taking the NaNoWriMo challenge again, for the second year in a row. Writing brings me such joy, too difficult to put into the right words, even for this writer. But I believe it is the challenge of pushing myself to get 50,000 words written in 30-days that gets my heart racing and my imagination on overdrive. As an Aspie, I have that psycho imagination, meaning I have a huge one. My brain is constantly creating new characters, and story lines, scenes, conversations, and yes, even titles. Coming up with titles and names for your characters is one of the greatest joys for a writer. At least for me.

So if you are a writer and an Aspie, I hope that you are taking the challenge right along with me. Challenge yourself. Let your imagination run wild, whatever genre you enjoy writing in. Good luck, and happy writing.

Leave a Reply

