WRITING IS GOOD FOR THE SOUL

Okay.  Okay.  I actually got up at 4:40 this morning and felt psyched and ready to write.  No coffee.  No nothing to help wake me up.  Just me and my thoughts.  So far so good.  I have my laptop fired up, and my works-in-progress ready to go.  My brain is ready to play too.  I meant to write for an hour, but wrote instead for about a half hour.  Better luck next time?  Maybe it’ll take me a few tries at getting up early to finally get moving and my fingers flying over the keys.  But, hey, it’s a start.  And I’ll take it. 

What I’m enjoying now is going on different writing websites and author’s blogs and checking out all the helpful and informative articles and thoughts of fellow bloggers/writers.  What are some of your favorites?  Who are some of your favorite writers?  Me personally, in the romance category they would be:  Lori Foster, Karen Robards, Heather Graham, Kat Martin, and Lora Leigh.  In the thriller category:  Vince Flynn(R.I.P.), Mark Greaney, and Alex Berenson.  But my book collection is vast and diverse.  I’m always looking for new authors to discover and enjoy. 

Writing is good for the soul.  It can lead to self-discovery.  It can help us understand the world around us.  It can also help us temporarily escape the world around us while engrossed within the pages of a fascinating book.  Do I make sense?  Does anyone else out there feel that way too?  Am I going in all sorts of different directions at one time?  Am I even able to gather these thoughts together without them running all over the place?  Be it poetry, fiction, non-fiction; I love it all.  Writing is liberating.  Like throwing off one’s clothes at a nudist colony(okay, maybe that one’s a stretch).   

I am a firm believer that a writer is a voracious reader, always hungry for more thrills, romance, interesting characters and great plot lines.  New worlds out there to discover.  We can be swept up into the past, remain in the here and now, or travel into the future.  I will never grow tired of words.  They are what makes the world go round.  The much-needed form of communication to bring people together.  May we, as writers, continue to strive to set the literary world aflame with our brilliance, our dedication, and our love of the written word.  Happy Writing.

Leave a Reply

