The Writer in Me

As I flounder around in this sea of indecision, I constantly wonder why I keep putting off that which is so very important to me. My desire to write; to put pen to paper, or more appropriately, fingertips to keyboard, seems to rage within me. Yet I do not make the time to just sit and write. Maybe it is the fear of rejection. My works are my babies, and I get pretty upset whenever someone doesn’t like my ‘babies’. It’s not that I feel that I’m so much better than the everyday writer, it’s just that I’ve had so much rejection in my past that I am living in a state of fear.

And let me tell you, it sucks! I have so many works in progress. That’s the extent of my writing. So many pieces left unfinished. So many thoughts never written down. Some days it feels like I’m drowning in regret. Regret for not having the guts to submit my work even though they may be rejected. Even though someone out there may not see the heart and soul I put into each piece. But as I’ve read recently, it is not me that is being rejected, only my work.

Sometimes it is difficult to separate the two. At least to me it is. I love to write. This is what I’ve longed to do since I was a child. It burns within me. The characters in my head cry out to be heard. They want to be recognized. They want to be free of my mind and put down on paper for all to see. To know them. To love them. Just as I do.

So there you have it. My dilemma. My guilt of needing to do the things in my house that I believe needs to be done. My job. My family. My workouts. My social media time. My private reading time. I am exhausted at the thought of having to accomplish so many tasks in only a brief 24-hour window. And I cannot forget sleep. My brain would be fried in record time if I didn’t get sleep. Though I’ve been trying to wake up earlier to write, but sometimes the brain is a bit too foggy in the early-A.M. to be thinking clearly enough about characters and plot lines and dialogue.

Now I need to finish up here. I need to make myself understand that which is most important to me, and cut out the rest of the crap. My family. My work outs. My writing. I seem to spend way too much time on the computer. That needs to end. Perhaps an hour in the morning and one at night before I hit the pillow. Even if I can get in one or two hours a day. But at least I can feel that it was all worthwhile. That I have not squelched my talent. This needs to end. And it needs to end today. Any other writers out there with any advice, suggestions, encouragement? Would love to hear from you. And ‘Happy Writing’ to all.

5 thoughts on “The Writer in Me

  1. u are not alone, & u never need to be šŸ™‚ thank u for voicing out what i feel too. so little time, so many tasks, so little life to write what burns within to escape. stay on the path & i’m sure the road ahead will illuminate itself…

    1. Thank you, dancing quill. I think the frustration of trying to get it all done in a day can cause many a writer to either feel inferior or outright give up. I never want to give up and I hope that fellow writers never do either. I guess it’s balance we need to seek and isn’t easy. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

