One thing which is nice about walking, for me anyway, is that it gives me time to think and to focus on my creative writing side. I haven’t done a lot of running lately because I have been working more hours. So going for a quick-paced walk is a great way to clear the cobweb from the brain, so to speak. Words and phrases and ideas pop up continually in my brain and I’m often without pen and paper. So the thing to do would be, of course, to bring along said pen and paper. I try to remember the thoughts and story lines that materialize in my brain and sometimes they stick, other times, like a vapor, they disappear quicker than I can lock them down in my memory bank.

But other than the weather being much cooler than normal for mid-August, all is going relatively well. I’ve worked on my writing for the past three days in a row, which is good. Unfortunately I haven’t spent more than an hour at a time each day, and it get me wondering, how do professional writers spend so much time on their writing when there is so many other things crying out to you to accomplish in a day? I have housework, usually 2 hours of working out each day, getting in an hour or so of reading time, work itself, doing computer stuff(social media, etc.), and shopping, etc. How does one fit it all in one day?

I’d like to spend more time at writing, hoping to supplement my family’s income. Perhaps at least 2 to 3 hours a day would be nice. I’ve begun another terrific novel by Karen Robards. Bait, is it’s title, and so far it is very good. There are so many authors out there to explore and I have so many books on my shelf that are begging to be read! How does one find the time?

Life is good, though, so I’m not complaining, just wondering how to be better at organizing my time. How do you do it? How do you fit everything that needs to be done into a single day? I’ve tried getting up earlier or staying up later, but I still feel that I can’t seem to get to it all. Well, at least my desk is messy, and according to research, that makes me a creative person. So I got that going for me, which is nice. Until next time, my friends. Stay safe.

Leave a Reply

