Reaching A Goal

Wow. I have finally accomplished my weight loss goal. As of this morning, I am now 120 lbs. I started in January and can now say that I have reached it. My promise to my dear husband, albeit almost eleven years later, is now laid out in front of us, paid in full. Finally. It hasn’t been easy, no. Losing weight is never easy. But the sense of accomplishment is exhilarating. Working out six days a week, with one rest day on Mondays, I feel great. No more going to bed stuffed and having to wake up during the night with chest pains. I have a lot more energy. No more having to take naps in the middle of the day because I just can’t keep moving. I can ride my bike now without tiring after five or ten minutes. I can run 5 to 5 1/2 miles without stopping. Now I just need to get back to being able to run the 7-8 mile loop I used to do.

Losing weight is so good for you. I know, we all understand how good health works for us. It just feels so good to be able to look in the mirror and be proud of what you see. No more shame. I am not writing this to make anyone feel bad. Some people have medical conditions that won’t let them lose weight, or on some sort of medication that keeps the weight on. But for those who want to lose and find it a struggle, please understand that it can be done.

What works for me? Counting calories. Yes. It is tedious, but it works. At least it did for me. Even if you do it for the first month or so to see how much you are actually eating. I just write down the portion size, the type of food, and how many calories. I no longer drink my calories either. That used to be a real diet buster for me before. I also started drinking a cup of green tea with lemon juice every morning after I first woke up. Eat more lean protein. I love black beans, chicken breast, and yes, even tofu. Tofu? Yes. You can make it taste good if you fix it right. Also, the silken tofu works great in smoothie.

Okay, I’m turning 50 this year. I think that was also a major, major contributing factor to this turnaround in my health. I didn’t want to turn 50 and feel awful, and be overweight. I wanted to be strong, healthy, and have more energy. Also, discovering that I had Asperger’s helped. How? I always felt that there was something holding me back from reaching my weight loss goals, and now that I figured it out, I was able to break free of those chains and plow straight forward.

Exercise routine? Lifting weights four times a week. Chest/back. Arms(biceps, triceps, shoulders). Cardio, (running, walking, biking, hiking, elliptical, step tape) six days a week. I like to mix it up to keep it from getting boring. Also, recently bought boxing gloves since that is something I always wanted to try. And I get such inspiration from various women’s health and fitness magazines and workouts posted on YouTube. And I love finding inspiration in fitness models and liking them on Facebook and following them on Twitter.

So there, I had to write this to encourage other who want to lose weight but don’t have the encouragement that I have. You need to believe in yourself. Easier said than done, I know. But love yourself enough to take that first step. Even if it’s only a walk around the block or ten minutes on the treadmill. Take pride in yourself and do something healthy. You won’t regret it. And of course, getting a physical first before plunging into any weight loss program is a good idea. I didn’t but I don’t want anyone to hurt themselves over it. Especially if you have quite a bit of weight to lose. Good luck. God bless. Be healthy. Be whole. Do it for yourself. Do it for those you love. You deserve to be strong and fit.

Leave a Reply

