Happy In My Life

Blessings abound in the little things; like birds singing in the early morning while it is still dark. The rich scent of the earth after a good rain. Watching flowers begin to bloom and trees budding. I am in awe of the raw beauty of the earth in these warm, sunny days. I look forward to more of them; in fact I could say that I crave these types of days. It speaks to me of life and renewal and hope for the future. Sometimes in the busyness of life we tend to overlook the little things. Rushing from point A to point B, we don’t always notice the pretty flowers or take time to breathe in deeply of the pleasant smells around us. Even the barbeques, the lake or ocean water, the smell of suntan lotion, we tend to overlook at times.

I enjoy waking up early during these days of approaching summer. There’s something stimulating about getting up a bit earlier and getting a few extra things done, or just taking the time out while the house is still quiet, to perhaps read a book or the newspaper while sipping that first cup of coffee. Life is a beautiful gift. I don’t think we realize how precious it truly is, until we lose someone that we love. Each day is a brand new opportunity to love, to laugh, to grow, to learn something new, and to just be the best you that you can be.

I am changing, each day. I am becoming the person that I’ve always wanted to be. My mind is definitely more focused these past few months that I’ve been lifting weights and losing pounds and inches. I am more determined than ever to make the most out of each day that I am given. And there is so much to do. Work on my writing, reading for knowledge and pleasure, for staying in touch with friends and family, working out, running, enjoying time outdoors, gardening; and the list could go on but I’m sure that you get the point. I’m learning to live life and not to fear it so much anymore. My Asperger’s discovery has shown me that I am not crazy, just think differently than others do. And I am content with that knowledge.

I have my husband, my two sons, my crazy dog, and my family and best of all, I have my sanity. And, I can’t forget, I also still have my faith. Please remember that you are special and wonderful and unique and beautiful just the way that you are. You are not a mistake or some cosmic accident. You are meant to be. Make the most out of each day, grow and be at peace. Find love, be loved, and love in return. What a feeling. What a life. What a joy. What a miracle. Be good to yourselves and to others.

Leave a Reply

