What’s New?

Just wanted to give an update on how things are going in my life. With the warmer weather here, I am getting back into running outdoors and it feels great! Haven’t been able to go too far yet but I am intending to get back to my 7 1/2 to 8 1/2 mile run hopefully by mid-June. I’ll also be signing up for a few races this running season also. Did one about four years ago and loved it. Now that I’ve lost 17 lbs. so far and have about 10 to go, I have a lot more confidence. I’ve been studying fitness models’ sites and reading a lot of fitness motivation. Need to work on my sagging abs, but at almost 50 years old I guess I have to be thankful for what I can make of them.

As for the gluten-free, I’ve gone back to eating regular pizza – Home Run Inn’s Ultra Thin Frozen Pizza doesn’t seem to give me any problems. I’m still staying away from anything else bread-y. As for lactose-free, still nothing with that. No High-Fructose for me or my family. Regardless of what the media portrays it as, I still believe it is not good for you. I’m doing the as-close-to-natural-as-possible make-up, Lemongrass Spa Products. Wonderful items. Look them up, if you are interested. As for weight-training, I’m doing well in that category also. Lifting four days a week and finally seeing some definite results. It’s pretty sweet.

As for the Asperger’s. I have come to a peaceful place and an understanding of this is who I am. I am happier now. More content. To finally understand why I am the way that I am is enlightening. I now feel that I can spend my energy and time on doing the things that need to get done, like getting into shape finally. And for reading and writing: I am enjoying some very good books; thrillers mostly and some romance. Writing is going well. Still need to send off for some magazine samples. Just need to find the right ones to spend the money on. I have so many stories going on at ones that at times I am a bit overwhelmed. But that could be part of the Asperger’s.

Gardening season is fast approaching. Will be planting again this year after letting the ground sit and rest last summer. Now comes the fun part of deciding what to grow. We’ll be getting plants so they’ll be easier to grow. Hopefully the weather this summer will be a good mix of rain and sun. Love fresh tomatoes. Okay, and I’ll be getting my hair cut soon also. Trying to decide on a new style, though. Something different to celebrate my approaching 50’th. Will be coloring it red again. Love that color. Not a bright red, but a subtle shade, but definitely red.

Okay, that is what’s going on my end of the world this beautiful May day. Blessings and love to all. If you have any suggestions for any of the above you’d like to share: gardening tips, favorite books, etc. please let me know. Til next time.
ll

7 thoughts on “What’s New?

  1. Hello,
    I just came across your post & I too have Aspergers, I was just curious as to how you manage to ‘cope’ or find yourself? I am struggling quite bad at the moment, finding it really tough. If you had any advice I’d really appreciate that 🙂

    Maria

    1. Hi Maria, I don’t know if I have a lot of advice since I just recently discovered this about myself. I find that working out, listening to music, and writing poetry helps me cope. When I was younger, it used to drive me nearly insane because I didn’t understand what was going on, but now I have peace because now I know why I am the way that I am. Oh, and I do a lot of running; that helps with the stress and also calms me down. Again, not sure if this will help, but I think that any hobby can help center yourself. Also talking with a good friend who understands you and what you are going through helps.

      1. Hi, thanks for replying.

        I do the same too really like go to the gym and write poetry etc. How do you feel about your future or is it something that doesn’t really bother you?
        I’m intrigued because I feel like since the diagnosis I’ve gone down hill in life.
        I only have one close friend now but I don’t feel like anyone really gets me. Thanks for the advice though it does help.

      2. Hi Maria: At this point in my life, since I’ll be 50 soon, it does not bother me about the future. It had a grip on me when I was younger because I would always cry and wonder why was I so different. Now that I know, I have peace. I’ve come to accept this is how I am and I am just fine the way that I am. If people can’t accept you for who you are, then they’re not worth bothering with. First you need to love yourself. Be kind to yourself. You are special and unique; one of a kind, and there’s nothing wrong with that. I’m also a Christian, albeit not a very good one, I know who I am, and again, I’ve made peace with it. Don’t be so hard on yourself. I’m not sure how old you are, but looking at life as a gift and each new day as a blessing helps. I’m sure that you are a beautiful person inside and out, now you need to see yourself that way too. Hope this helps. Take care of yourself.

      3. Thanks for replying again 🙂 I am 23 years old.

        I had a cry today because I feel like my younger friend is already planning moving out etc & I can’t even imagine leaving home or coping on my own. I am trying to learn how to adapt to my lifestyle at the moment & do have faith in my future although I hate thinking about it. I try to live life in the present but I do get days when I panic.

        Thanks for the kind words they really help.
        I will try & work on loving myself more too! 🙂
        Take Care – Maria.

Leave a Reply

