Just To Let You Know I’m Still Alive and Kicking

I got to see some dear friends yesterday.  We had a little party at our office for Valentine’s Day and it was fun.  I baked some cookies; some that were gluten-free and some that were not.  It’s alway good to see people you may normally not have the chance to see other than at holidays and what not.  It’ll be eleven years in August since I started working with them.  And honestly this is the longest job, besides being a mom, that I’ve ever had.  And you know why?  Because these are good people to work with, not for.  We’re a family.  And they treat us as such.  We work well together a team, as a job should be.  Working on the same side, not against each other.  I won’t say the name of the business, but it is a janitorial/carpet cleaning franchise that has been around since the mid-ninteteen forties.  This is the only job I’ve ever had that I felt accepted at.  I have good leadership which I will follow gladly.

There’s something to say about being happy to go to work each day, glad to be employed and content with what you do.  It’s rough out there.  I had tried to get a few church secretarial jobs but it’s hard to come by.  The last church I interviewed at had 87 people interview for the position.  I didn’t have much of a chance because I am not very computer-literate.  I know the basics, and that’s about it.  But yet I still return to the flock where I started out at when we moved to this area ten and a half years ago.

So to my fellow co-workers and partners, thank you for all that you’ve done for me in the past and what you still do today.  You are a breath of fresh air to the employment industry, actually caring about your employees and their families.  Thank you for providing me with a job and the ability to help support my household.  God bless you, John, Kathy, and Marilyn.

Leave a Reply

