Baby, It’s Cold Outside…And I’m a Wimp

Alright.  I can do this.  I can do this.  I need to go outside into my garage and lift those weights.  Even though those dumbbells and bars will be freezing cold, I can do this.  Well, I have to do this.  I want to get in shape and stay that way.  For a change.  It’s probably below zero with the windchill, but I can’t wimp out.  I shouldn’t.  Okay, you’re probably wondering why I work out in my garage in the dead of winter and not at a local health club.  Okay, I’m cheap.  There, I said it.

We have free weights, machines, and a treadmill out in the garage.  Trust me, it’s a BIG garage.  Just not a very warm one.  So, what’s an old girl to do?  Well, she does the unfashionable thing and throws on some sexy black tights and a long-sleeved t-shirt and starts layering other clothes on top of those pieces.  To the point where I can no longer bend over, or lift anything over my head!

But I’m on a roll now, so to speak.  I’ve read somewhere, and unfortunately it normally takes for me to read something for it to sink into my thick skull, that it’s by lifting weights that helps one to lose weight.  And I always thought it was sparkling metabolism.

I’m a runner, or should I say jogger.  I’m very slow.  Must be the age thing, I’m sure.  I always thought that the running helped me shed those extra pounds.  And the elliptical.  Working out on that puppy for an hour a day.  No.  It seemed to only make me hungrier than I ought to be.  So now I’m back to lifting weights.  Of course, not too heavy.  Just want to tone up.  Plus I got me a bum elbow.  Hurts too much whenever I lift too heavy of a weight.  That’ old age creeping up on me.

So I’m back to my predicament:  working out in a cold garage.  Maybe it won’t be good for my muscles?  Perhaps it’ll tear something?  See, there I go again looking for excuses.  But my husband and sons work out in the cold, so I guess it’ll be okay, right? Someone quick, talk me out of it!  It’ crazy cold out there!  I’ll freeze!  My finger and toes’ll get numb.  I’m just an old woman, for pete’s sake!  Okay, get a hold of yourself, woman!  I can do this.  I won’t wimp out.

I’m going to hit “Publish” and turn off the computer now.  I’m going to get up, slowly, and go into my bedroom and change.  Put on those very warm clothes.  Take a few deep breaths and go outside, into my garage.  I’ll be brave.  I’ll tough it out.  For my health’s sake, I can do this.  Wish me luck, all.  And  if I don’t make it back inside, don’t laugh too hard at me.  Okay, here goes nothing.  Til next time.

Peace!

2 thoughts on “Baby, It’s Cold Outside…And I’m a Wimp

Leave a Reply

