Pssst…Guess Who’s Turning Fifty Sometime This Year???????????

I’ve got a secret and it’s a big one!  Well, not really a secret.  But perhaps just one that most women like to keep under wraps.  I’m turning fifty later  in the year.  There.  I’ve said it.  Guess who’s not afraid of mentioning her age?  This girl!  Now I have to warn you never to ask me about my weight, though.  That is one touchy subject.  But I digress.

Let’s move on.  I have a lot of changing around that I’m doing.  Just started hitting the weights again…not heavy but enough to prove that I’m actually lifting something.  It’s something I enjoy doing, just not in the cold.  We work out in our garage and it can get pretty cold  in an unheated garage.  My husband and sons can tough it out, but not me.  I guess the older I get the colder I get.  I want to plan on running a few races come Spring and Summer.  I did a 5K a few years ago and loved it.  Maybe I can try for a 10K or Half marathon this time?

And I have been working on my writing, mostly on a daily basis.  I’m feeling kinda proud of myself.  I’d like to get a few more hours of writing in eventually per day.  I have to be better organized, though.  Less time on the computer looking up stuff and more time working on the old novel.  And short stories.  I got lots and lots of short stories.  And of course, I try to make time to read for at least an hour a day.

Right now I’m looking out the kitchen window and the snow is swirling around in all of its splendid whiteness.  At least I have nowhere to go until later in the week.  It’s beautiful to watch as the snow falls, it’s the driving in it that sucks.  I know.  I’ve been living in the Chicago area for decades and cannot wait to escape to warmer climes.  My husband and I are thinking southwest Tennessee.

But there is so much to taste in life.  It seems like there is not enough time in any given day to do all that I want to do.  That any of us want to do.  I want to do some more baking.  That’s what was on my agenda for today, but unfortunately I didn’t bake anything.  So I guess I’ll have to leave that for tomorrow.  Some more gluten-free bread, gluten-free corn muffins, and whatever else I can find to make gluten-free.

So enjoy your evening.  Hopefully you have your loved ones close by to hug, to hold, to feel safe next to them.  Laugh.  Love.  Be filled with peace.  Have a cup of hot chocolate or tea(that’s what I’ll be doing later).  Relax and take a breather.  To all of you fine men and women out there, know that you are wonderful, special, loved, and wanted.  That you are perfect just the way that you are.  Simply live.  Live simply.  And enjoy the little, quiet moments in your lives.  Hugs.

2 thoughts on “Pssst…Guess Who’s Turning Fifty Sometime This Year???????????

Leave a Reply

