Into 2013

Okay, here we are, into another new year. We survived 2012. Now we have a brand-new year ahead of us to do things right. To love. To work. To create. To laugh. A chance to lose that weight I’ve been struggling since my youngest wa born, never mind that was 16 1/2 years ago. Shhh. So what is on your agenda? What are your New Year’s Resolutions and how long will you keep them? Or have they already been tossed out the window? I say, live life. Don’t waste time making up resolutions you won’t be keeping and then beating yourself up over not keeping them. Maybe make one and keep it. I think that is far easier for us mere mortals. I have a great love of books. I have been accumulating many paperbacks over the past year over at our local resale shop. Last year I finished 13 books. Right now I am reading a thriller by Mark Greaney called ‘On Target’. I’ve never liked spy thrillers before, but the older I get the more I like to try new genres. Keeps life interesting and expands the mind. Especially good for me since I will be 50 this year. Scary. A half a century. But I won’t be focusing on that. I will forget about the graying hair, the facial fuzz, the tiny wrinkles, and the creaking bones when I first get out of bed in the morning.

Yes. I will focus on the good in life this year. I will learn to love others even though they may not reciprocate. I will try to be open to trying new things. I have a definite fear of looking like an idiot, so I normally do not try new things. I’d like to write more often(everyday would be nice, even if it is only 30 minutes or less). I want to watch more movies that I enjoy. I want to be free to feel, to cry, to experience all that life has to offer. I want to eat healthier; gluten-free, lactose-free(for a reason not just because I want to be ‘different’). I want to understand my sons better. I want to be more understanding of my husband. We will be married for 23 years come May.

Well, there it is. My heart out there. Focus on what you want to accomplish this year, no matter how large or small your aspirations. Love big. Choose wisely the words you speak. They can come back and bite you in the ass one day. Until next time, stay safe.

Leave a Reply

