Loving the Mirror

When I was attending junior high school, I began going through a serious identity crisis.  I didn’t like who I was or what I was becoming.  My body was awkwardly changing, and I felt cursed by a raging case of acne.  I thought that I was the ugliest girl alive and that I’d never find someone to marry me.  My fellow classmates didn’t help matters either.  I became bitter and angry.  And suicidal.  I didn’t see any worth within myself.  I felt that my looks and my life would never improve.  But fortunately, they did.

As I grew older and matured, my acne disappeared and I met and married a wonderful man.  It’s a shame how young people, particularly girls, view themselves in the mirror.  If only they could see their worth through the eyes of the Creator.  God does not make junk.  Created in His image, we are a genetic mix of our parents’ DNA.  God sees us as beautiful, as we should also.  And along with that we should not be so harsh in the judgement of others either.  They are who they are.

All teens go through the “I-hate-the-way-I-look” phase.  And it is only that, a phase.  Girls need to be more forgiving of themselves during these formative years.  Trust me, things will get better.  Sadly, though, many girls go through serious addictions due to their distorted images of themselves.  Eating disorders, drug and alcohol abuse, and even cutting themselves to help relieve the pain that they are experiencing.  And the pain that they feel is real.  Especially painful if they do not have a loving and trusted parent or adult in their life that they can turn to for counsel.  

I want you to know that you are beautiful just as you are.  Looks do change as you get older.  Do not be so hard on yourselves.  There is a light at the end of this tunnel called ‘teenage angst’.  You do need to accept yourself  just as you are even if others do not.  There is nothing you can do about that anyway.  You are fearfully and wonderfully made, to quote scripture.  You can either be your own biggest cheerleader or your harshest critic.  Choose wisely, friends.

Leave a Reply

