What I Believe

I try to be a good Christian, but I will admit to failing miserably a lot of the time.  But God is good.  I know not everyone believes there is a God, and I would never force my beliefs upon you.  Yet I know that God is there by looking around me at the wonders of this world; the trees and flowers returning to life each Spring, and the beauty and strength of the human body.  I think that the church in America, at least many of them, are doing something wrong.  I believe that many are asking selfishly, What can God do for me?”  whereas those in the growing third-world churches and house groups are asking selflessly, “What can I do for God?”  We in this nation can be so materialistic and unwilling to make any sort of sacrifice for the good of others.  Maybe that’s what is wrong with society in general.  People are too wrapped up in what feels good to them and what they can get out of life.  People in the church can be guilty of this also.  I have been selfish before and still can be from time to time.  Unwilling to budge in doing things that make me happy instead of concentrating on how to make things better for someone else.  That is why the church in America is not really growing.  There is a deep discontentment among fellow believers, and a feeling of ‘is this all there is?’ 

There are so many people out there who are lost and hurting.  Even if they are followers of a different religion or not one at all, we as Christians still need to reach out a helping hand to them.  Jesus told us to help ‘the least of these’.  What kind of example are we giving to people about our faith when we turn our backs when others need us most?  Taking chances to help others different from ourselves can seem scary.  No one wants to get hurt or rejected.  Many people, believers or not, want to help make a difference in this world.  Who wants to get to the end of their life and look back and realize that they just basically floated through life, not making a difference at all?  I want to make a difference.  I want to be that person who stands up and cries out in the street that we need to come together to make that change.  No more same old-same old.  Be the candle in the dark.  We should not shun others because they are not like us.  God loves variety. 

So here’s to being different.  Here’s to being the light in the darkness.  Here’s to saying, “I accept you even though you may be different than me.’  Here’s to joining hands with those who want to be the change. Here’s to loving others unconditionally, be they whatever nationality, or religion, or sex, or whatever we are using to judge others worthiness in our own eyes.  There will be no peace until we can join hands and say ‘the hell with those who wish to divide us’.  Now is the time for reconciliation.  Now is the time to make the change. 

Leave a Reply

