Oh What A Beautiful Day!

There are few things more enjoyable in October than  to have a long stretch of sunny and warm summer days.  Ah.  Being able to hang the laundry outside to dry in the breeze, coming back inside all fresh smelling.  I can sit outside in a t-shirt and comfortably bask in the sun.  I figure I might as well get as much of this goodness that I possibly can before the much cooler weather sweeps in from the North. 

You see, I am not a cold-weather person.  As I am getting older, my bones protest the cold weather in the mornings when I first get out of bed.  Popping and cracking, they are weary from the stiffness that sets in overnight while I sleep.  That is why Spring and Fall are my two favorite seasons.  One, because Spring is the earth’s rebirth from the taking of a three-month long nap, and nature comes back alive so wonderfully and colorfully.  And two, Fall is when the leaves change colors on the trees and the weather is cooler and great for sleeping at night.    And to me Fall is God’s way of saying, ‘Don’t worry.  Everything will come back in the Spring.  It’s not the end.’

So I sit outside, relishing the sun’s warmth on my skin.  I have my feet up on a small side table, while sipping my favorite tea, Snapple Peach, with a paperback book in hand(what?  A paperback you say?  What, pray tell, is that?)  I love to read outside while sipping my drink and just taking the time to enjoy this life that God has blessed me with.  No cares in the world to think about, only about the lives of the characters in the book.  I am swept away into another world, temporarily, until the timer goes off and it’s back inside to prepare dinner.  Sigh.  Back to the grind.  Back to the real world.  Well, at least tomorrow is another day.  I’m just praying it’s still sunny and warm.  Can’t seem to get enough of these days.  Thank you, Lord, for the sunshine, the warmth, and the good feelings that they produce inside of my spirit. 

Blessings, until next time.  Enjoy the weather, if you can.  For soon enough it will be winter in the Midwest.  I’ll just think warm thoughts until the Lord brings back Springtime and all the new growth — again.

Leave a Reply

