30-Year Reunion

I’m starting to get nervous now.  Only a few more weeks and I’ll be attending a family picnic with former high school classmates.  Was thinking about attending the formal reunion the night before but thought better of it.  Between the cost, the location, and my husband not wanting to go made my decision pretty easy.  But it’s been many years and bad memories ago.

I never fit in with any clique in high school.  I was basically your average loner.  The last one picked for the P.E. team, and sometimes not even picked at all, just put on a team by the exasperated gym teacher.  I was never very athletic, but I was a pretty fast runner.

The reunion has got me wondering about my former classmates:  what are they going to think of me now?  I was quiet, and a bit strange(okay I was pretty strange) but weren’t we all in high school?  With Facebook it has been easy catching up and keeping up with their lives.  Where they live, what they’re doing for a living now, if they’re married or not, how many kids.  But I still have those old butterflies in my stomach, returning to that wallflower persona. 

And I wonder what I’ll be like at the picnic.  Will I talk to a lot of people?  I was never very open or outgoing, even now.  A lot of the people who are supposed to attend the picnic are people I didn’t really know.  Will I have a good time?  Will my family?  

But I’m going to take a few deep breaths, dig out my Senior yearbook and allow myself the pleasure of  reminiscing.  I had some good memories.  Senior Breakfast.  Having a short piece of fiction published my senior year in our school’s literary magazine, helping out in the library my senior year, and just plain looking forward to graduation day. 

So I think it will be fun.  I need to go there with an open mind and in the spirit of camaraderie and just enjoy the day.  It’ll be interesting to see what everyone looks like in person.  But come on, 30 years is a long time.  I’m sure that we’ve all changed quite a bit.  Grayer hair, rounder middles, hearing not so good anymore, nor our eyesight.  Ah, perhaps I will color my hair and drop a few pounds in the meantime…well, I do have three weeks to go!  I can do it.

Leave a Reply

